Flour + Water + Yeast + Salt + Determination

It has been a while since my last update – July?  The last 6 months have been magnanimous; an otherwise brutal 2016 has thankfully been personally abundant. Our freezers are full of okra, peppers of all colors, squash, and soon our first beef slaughter of 2017.

Sadly, I let my sourdough stay in the fridge for the past 3 months, and have yet to revive it. There were about 6 weeks this fall when our usual bread flour supplier fell through and we were stuck buying all-purpose bleached flour and using up older stock of whole wheat. In just that time I got out of the habit of twice-weekly sourdough maintenance, though I may try to get back into a new sourdough this spring. Just goes to show that determination may be the fifth critical ingredient in bread, not just flour + water + yeast + salt.

I’m hoping to get back into the habit of writing regularly again, and have a few topics in mind. Stay tuned…

 

One thought on “Flour + Water + Yeast + Salt + Determination

  1. I feel you on maintaining sourdough starter. I feed it weekly and keep it in the fridge until I’m ready to bake. I forgot for about 3 weeks. It looked really ugly, but I was able to restore without starting over after a few days of regular feedings at room temperature. Amazing resilient.

    Like

Leave a Reply

